The Merseyside Sporting Champions Dinner 2014 took place on Friday 28th November 2014 at the Adelphi Hotel in Liverpool. Over 300 people attended the evening to raise the profile of sporting achievements across Merseyside and in doing so raise money for local sports council bursary funds.Guest speaker for the evening was the legend Jan Mølby, with the host for the second consecutive year being Radio City presenter Steve Hothersall.

You can see highlights from the evening in our presentation:

Merseyside Sporting Champions Dinner Presentation – Interactive Prezi format
Merseyside Sporting Champions Dinner Presentation – PDF Version (13MB)

Merseyside Sport Awards 2014Merseyside Sport Awards 2014Merseyside Sport Awards 2014Merseyside Sport Awards 2014

As part of the evening the following awards were presented:
Community Sports Project of the year , Primary and Secondary School of the year , Young Sports Person of the year , Young Volunteer of the year , Volunteer of the Year , Coach of the year , Club of the Year and Lifetime Achiever of the Year. You can see full details of the winners and nominees further down this page.

Plus there was a special presentation to the England North West Satellite Club Member of the Year which was presented to Omar Mohammed, 14 Year old Omar attends the Weight Lifting satellite club at Toxteth Fire Fit Hub funded by Merseyside Sports Partnership. Omar’s Coach Martin Cooper said,

“He has shown a great deal of focus and commitment to learn the technique for the Olympic lifts and develop as a person. As a result of his enthusiasm for helping others he is now a key part of the coaching team. Working as a volunteer Omar has created a role for himself as a coach and mentor for new behaviour referrals from the youth team.”


Winners & Nominees

Lifetime Achiever

Sponsored by Decade of Health and Wellbeing

Winner – Gordon Dacre (Liverpool)

Nominees – Steve Vincent (St Helens), John Rourke (Sefton), Rob Adams (Knowsley), James Fallon (Halton), Master Xingbo Liu (Wirral), Gordon Dacre (Liverpool)

Merseyside Sport Awards 2014

Coach of the Year

Sponsored by Sonex Publishing

Winner – Anthony McGuiness (Liverpool)

Nominees – Geoff Alford Thatto (St Helens), Gareth Roberts (Sefton), Matt Gotts (Knowsley), John Bazley (Halton), Lesley Ward (Wirral), Anthony McGuinness (Liverpool)


Merseyside Sport Awards 2014


Young Volunteer of the Year

Sponsored by University of Liverpool

Winner – Keiran Henry (Halton)

Nominees – Jessica Hunter (St Helens), Zac Nicholson (Sefton), Jack Foster (Knowsley), Keiran Henry (Halton), Ashley Williams (Wirral), Ella Robinson (Liverpool)

Merseyside Sport Awards 2014

Young Sports Person of the Year

Sponsored by Liverpool John Moores University 

Winner – Elizabeth Tolman (Sefton)

Nominees – Kyran Knapper (St Helens), Elizabeth Tolman (Sefton), Melissa Hall (Knowsley), Thomas Roberts (Halton), Andrew Morris (Wirral), Erin McBride (Liverpool)

Merseyside Sport Awards 2014

Club of the Year

Winner – Sefton Stars Basketball Club (Sefton)

Nominees – St Helens Town Junior Football Club (St Helens), Sefton Stars Basketball Club (Sefton), West Derby Hockey Club (Knowsley), Halton Swimming Club (Halton), Acro Nova Gymnastics Club (Wirral), Marshalls Football Club (Liverpool)

Merseyside Sport Awards 2014

Volunteer of the Year

Winner – Colin Dolan (Liverpool)

Nominees – Peter Whitfield (St Helens), Tommy Walsh (Sefton), David Edwards (Knowsley), Glyn Lightfoot (Halton), Bernadette O’Connor (Wirral), Colin Dolan (Liverpool)

Merseyside Sport Awards 2014

Community Sports Project of the Year

Winner – Break the Boredom (Active Sefton)

Nominees – Liverpool Watersports Centre, Firefit Weightlifting Club, Everton In The Community ‘Imagine Your Goals’ Project, Archery at Dutch Farm (Mind Body Spirit), Liverpool Basketball, Speke Hall ‘Sporty Speke’ Project, Sefton Active Sports ‘Break The Boredom’ Project, Aspiring Instructors Project

Merseyside Sport Awards 2014

Primary School of the Year 

Winner – New Park Primary School (Liverpool)

Nominees – New Park Primary School (Liverpool), Billinge St Aidan’s C of E School (St Helens), Bleak Hill School (St Helens), Churchtown Primary School (Sefton)

Merseyside Sport Awards 2014

Secondary School of the Year 

Winner – Clare Mount Specialist School College(Wirral)

Nominees – Bebington High Sports College (Wirral), Clare Mount Specialist Sports College (Wirral), Formby High School (Sefton), Greenbank High School (Sefton)

Merseyside Sport Awards 2014